Paused On Isaiah 48:17

“This is what the Lord says — your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel; ‘I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.'”  Isaiah 48:17

The other day I was flipping through Isaiah trying to find the given scripture for Bible study and this verse caught my eyes primarily because I had previously underlined it. I find it interesting that for that past few weeks it’s been difficult for me to make decisions and then this verse draws my attention because it was what I needed. My difficulty in making decisions is probably because I simply think too much of what needs to be done…. what things I need to take care of versus what I really need to take care of. A train of thought may be something like this, “What will be for dinner tonight… should I cook or will everyone else just find something to eat? What about groceries?! and the dishes in the sink?! and laundry?! But I have to do my assignments! And read these two chapters for class! AHHHHH!” These days have been going by so fast they’ve become a blur

Let me fill you in on some dets (details). I recently started going back to school after taking a semester off. During my semester of I took care of some or most of the household responsibilities. But now that I’ve started school I’ve realized that I’m not a robot or a machine! I can’t do everything between things concerning home, things concerning school and my personal life. My respect has grown towards stay at home moms and wives (who actually take care of their home and family) because although I’m not a wife nor a mother, taking care of home and family takes a lot of effort, energy, and so much more. But back to the verse above — when I read it, I was like, ‘ohhh ok’  sort of like when a light bulb immediately comes on in your head. It was relief from the stress having so much to do and so little time to do it. Simply because this verse brought my attention to the fact that the Lord is my God. Which means He is my strength, teacher, advocate, provider and sustainer – my everything, therefore I need to go to Him at all times and not just when I am weak, tired and overwhelmed. Secondly, He teaches me what is best for me and directs me in the way I should go. For me to learn from Him, I need to talk to Him and that’s done by being in prayer and reading His word. Basically, all this decision-making I’ve been trying to do and figure out on my own hasn’t been amounting to anything but stress and unnecessary work. Reading Isaiah 48:17 has shown me that there is no need for me to feel adrift because God teaches me and He will direct me in the path that I should take. Plus, he has promised to never leave me or forsake me.

God has promised the same thing to all His children and to all that desire Him in their life. So this verse doesn’t only apply to me but to you also.

Hey, you want to know more about life with God? Then scroll on up to the Salvation Page or the All It Takes page above and read what’s there.

Oh and lastly, ever feel like everything is going so fast that the days become blurry…? That’s what the last few weeks have been like for me. The old saying is true, “time waits for not one.”

Peace, Love Hope and Faith

-TC

Leave a Reply

