Book Review: He Satisfies My Soul

If you want to read a book that parallels the physical body and nature with the body of Christ or if you want to learn more about the human body while at the same time gaining insight about your body and the body of Christ, then this book is for you.

Before I read this book my question was, “How does God satisfy my soul? How would that happen?” Psalm 23:1 says, The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. So as my shepherd He supplies my needs(Philippians 4:19) and cares for me (1 Peter 5:7) or in other words He’s all-sufficient. Were my questions answered by reading this book? No. However, as I read this book I gained understanding about simple things that are often overlooked. For instance, why do we hunger? and why do we thirst? These things that give us an appetite for specific things and causes us to crave what we may not yet have; what good is it if we’re not always satisfied?  How much can taste affect the things we desire? Is the earth God created self-sustaining? Is a mother’s milk better than the milk formula created for infants? While were on the subject of milk, when is it time for the new Christian to move from milk to solid food? Once we become a Christian we should grow spiritually as we’ve grown physically. 1  Peter 2:2 speaks of desiring the pure milk of the word so that we may grow. If the word isn’t pure then something contrary to God and His ways are contaminating it.

Hebrews 5:13-14 “For everyone who partakes only of milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, for he is a babe. But solid food belongs to those who are full of age, that is, those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.” 

I recommend this book if you have time or are willing to make time to read it. Oh yes! It is best to have a Bible near by, for scriptures are referred to and used.

DISCLAIMER: I received He Satisfies My Soul by Paul Brand in a monthly offer that comes with the monthly Our Daily Bread Devotional by RBC Ministries. I am not receiving any special or additional offer for writing this review, I have not agreed to review this book in order to receive it for free, nor am I receiving any kind of compensation.

One thought on “Book Review: He Satisfies My Soul

  1. Pingback: Pure Milk And Solid Food | Just a Little Something

Leave a Reply

