Your Own Story

http://www.nittygrittylove.com/gods-in-control-of-the-surprises/

Why do I worry or stress about the future? For the past few days, mixed with the last week too probably…

The story isn’t over, it’s still being written.
Glory to God
-TC

Originally written March 5th 2015.

The above paragraph is only an excerpt of my response to an article I read on Nitty Gritty Love titled http://www.nittygrittylove.com/gods-in-control-of-the-surprises/”>God Is In Control of The Surprises. After reading that post I prayed to God about trusting Him and His plans regarding my relationship with my boyfriend.

Reading Michelle Lindsey’s post on how her life turned out and how she met her husband reminded me of something I recently learned. As recent as within the last few months of this year.

Before I ever really started dating I read so many stories of how God worked in the lives of those wanting to be married or those interested in a special someone romantically. Aside from the posts I read on girltalk and peaceful single girl I read the book Quest for Love by Elizabeth Elliot. That books is a great read! So I recommended it, especially if you are single or in a romantic relationship.

I used to become frustrated sometimes because my story wasn’t looking like the ones I read about or saw around me. What I read and saw seemed right, so much so that it seemed like the only way to go about dating. I’ve learned though that each person has a story of their own. The way that our lives unfold are not the same though they may be similar in some circumstances. I’ve learned to appreciate the story God is writing for my life and that it is unique; filled with its own struggles, victories, miracles, answered prayers, times or waiting, times of forgiveness and times of learning.

Father I’m grateful for the plans You have for me.

The stories and testimonies of others lives and Your hand in them only add to the beauty You have created. It shows that You work in many different ways, especially if we let You have Your way in our lives and trust You. It’s no easy journey, but we learn a lot along the way.

My closing point is, enjoy the way your story is unfolding.
Just because it doesn’t look like the successful relationship of a close friend or relative doesn’t mean that God’s hand is not present and it doesn’t mean that your own relationship won’t be successful.

So I’ll enjoy the way my story is unfolding. Trusting in who God is: faithful, compassionate, caring, absolutely loving, and patient. Trusting His promises.

(For those of us who are not single, but not married yet either. There are many readings about singleness and marriage, but what about the in between? With God’s word and my experiences I hope this will be a blessing to those, who like me have at once become frustrated by seeing so much directed to singleness and marriage, but not exactly the in between. Scripture on singleness and marriage are still beneficial to read about because there’s nothing wrong with preparing!)

Pray. Talk to God.
Love God.

Leave a Reply

