Biblical Reading

Last year around this time I started reading the Bible again. I read the whole Bible at a younger age, and I enjoyed it. I decided to do it again last year because I wasn’t going back to school for the year and I was not working, so I felt I had the time to read the Bible daily other than having my daily devotionals.

Today I was reading the first few chapters of 1 Corinthians. I highlighted many verses that stood out to me. One of them was 1 Corinthians 3:18, which says,

Do not deceive yourselves. If any of you think you are wise by the standard of this age, you should become ‘fools’ so that you may become wise.

After I highlighted I wrote,

This reminds me of what was said in God’s Plan and the Overcomers. ‘The reason we do not have power is that we are not weak enough. The power of Christ is perfected only in weakness (2 Cor. 12:9). It is not Christ making me powerful that is the secret to the victorious life; it is Christ being power unto my weakness.’ So, in order for Christ to be strong in us, we have to first be weak. For this highlighted verse, if we should be wise, we have to first be a fool.

This quote from God’s Plan and the Overcomers is something I did not easily grasp. However, as I thought about it more, I understood what was being said. We as individuals really have to be weak for us to realize that we need Christ’s power working in us. I also realized I do not like to be weak. I like to be strong. It was one of the reasons I wanted to become a nurse. It wasn’t just because I wanted to care for people, it was also because I wanted to make enough money to support myself and my family(my parents and siblings if I need to). I was so stuck on having my own and I am still partially this way even though I am engaged to my fiancé. I still desire for us to have our own. Our own home. I am currently living with my dad and his significant other. My dad, sister and I are living in her apartment. It is not our(my blood relatives) apartment. So, I still cannot do things that I’d like to do if we were living in a house in my dad’s name. It is also having an aspect of control over the little things, like where certain items go for cleaning or where we spend money for groceries. Simple things that the Lord, may still be working on in me.

Yet, here I am. This is where God has me for now. I have to and must choose to be content with where He has me. For in this place He is working in me and on me to be more like Christ. Not just for myself, but also for the family I live with, for my family I don’t live with, for my fiancé, for my friends and even for my future customers through PFLH Designs.

“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” Hebrews 13:5

“Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:11-13

Perhaps, I am learning to be content in all things…Surely, I can indeed do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Yet, still, I have to be weak first. That is where the challenge is for me. Being weak. I think, I have to work, become exhausted, then I will be weak, then I will need Christ to strengthen me through His power. Even now though, I need Christ’s power and the Holy Spirit to lead me in the days God gives me to live. To set my path straight, to do what I need to get done, but still enjoy this life He has blessed me with. Without Him, I am sure I will be all over the place trying to get everything done, this is how I’ve been this year: all over the place. So far we are only in March, so there is still time to get my path straight and aligned. But, aligned to God’s will and plan, which is far better.

Blessings be to you all. May God keep you. Thank you for reading my post. ❤ Jesus. -TC Soon to be TH or TCH!

Leave a Reply

