My Protector

He is closer than I think.

Closer than I would allow Him to be.

He is all up in my business.

Knowing me,

even more than I know myself.

He is God.

God in all three persons.

The Holy Trinity.

Today’s devotional is a good one. It reminds me of God’s ever present protection and His provision for where He has placed me. Yesterday I became so miserable with my life. So discontent because of where I am, versus where I want to be. But am I thankful for a fresh new day that the Lord has given me. His word says that He gives fresh mercy every day. Let’s take a look in the book of Lamentations. Chapter 3 verses 22-25.

“Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not.

***They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.

‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, therefore I hope in Him.

The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.”

I remember when I think I was obsessed with a crush I had many years ago. My nights were full of thoughts of scenerios of what I thought would happen, what I wondered would happen and even of fantasies with this guy! As I think back now, Father I thank you for not answering the prayers I prayed when I wanted to be together with him. But I also thank You for having Your way in his life. So in the evening my thoughts would be about him, the next morning, when I woke up my mind would be refreshed. I did not have the stress, concern or worries of the night before plaguing my mind. My mind was refreshed!

Today my mind is refreshed from last nights miserableness. Thank You Father for this new day!

Now verse 25, it says, ‘The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.” Praise God for His word! Yesterday I realized how much I will be waiting on God as He has His way in my life and in my loved ones life.

  1. I learned that the wedding date for my fiancé and I is an unknown to us. This sucked yesterday. I want it to be soon for few specific reasons. But we both learned on yesterday that God wants to strengthen us individually before we get married. This is so different from the stories I’ve read online talking about marriage is a ministry and God is cleaning you up in the marriage. It is so different, I was not prepared to wait! Am not prepared to wait! But I will be waiting. Who am I to force God to do what I want Him to do? As His word says, I am like the grass, I can wither and fade in no time. (Read Isaiah 40:6-8 & 1 Peter 1:24, 25)
  2. I seem to be ready to have a job. Yes, a job. My career has been started, that is my art business. My art business is a baby, one with a name change too. She is not an adult, able to produce to support her mom. That probably sounds weird…but as a ‘mom’ I, feel I should have an income to help out myself and my family. To get the things that I want, that I know I don’t need. I know this and I remember Jesus’ words which say ones life is not about money, my life does not depend on money. The exact phrases escapes my mind. I found it! Like 12:15 “And He said to them, ‘Take heed and beware of covetousness, for ones life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”

Here I am editing and I can’t remember what 3 was, I don’t even remember what 3 was. Perhaps it is not needed. Writing helps me though. I wrote it, it helped as I typed it on my phone, now it is gone and I am cool with that.

The devotional I read was from Our Daily Bread.  Blink and Think of God Deuteronomy 32:1-12 May 22nd 2017. http://www.odb.org I believe on their main page the devotionals change daily. The booklets are free though. If you request one, they’ll start you off with something like a starter booklet and then at some point send the monthly devotional booklets.

Leave a Reply

